International Scientific Advisory Committee (ISAC)

ISAC is an advisory body to the director of the Institute of Physics. ISAC's main task is to recommend the strategies for implementing key laboratory systems to achieve the technical competency of its activities to meet the objectives of individual research programs and to develop strategies to attract users and develop user programs.

The scope of the ISAC is to provide guidance and advice to the ELI Beamlines project in the following areas:
– General advice on future plans and long term strategy
– Strategy of implementation of systems to achieve technical competency of key activities to meet the objectives of individual research programs
– Strategy to gain users and for the development of user programs – User policy
– Recommendations on:

  • Identification of new directions in science and technology development
  • Effective utilization of the facility and its operation
  • Future developments required to maintain facility excellence

– Advice on internal development and collaboration efforts and procurements
– Advice on specific issues of current project(s)

The ISAC meets at least once a year in person and provides written report containing recommendations.

The current membership stands at 16 representatives. These include outstanding scientists and research facility directors at universities and research institutes from the Czech Republic, France, Germany, Japan, Portugal, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

ISAC members:

Roger Falcone
Chairman of ISAC
Advanced Light Source, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, USA

Colin Danson
Vice-chairman of ISAC
Imperial College, London, UK

Stefan Karsch
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Max-Planck-Institute for Quantum Optics, Garching, Germany

Franz X. Kärtner
CFEL, Hamburg, Germany

Catherine Le Blanc
Ecole Polytechnique Palaiseau Cedex, France

Wim Leemans
Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY

Luís O. Silva
Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisbon, Portugal

Mike Dunne
Linac Coherent Light Source (LCLS), SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, Stanford, USA

Matthew Zepf
Helmholtz Institute Jena, Friedrich Schiller University Jena

Christoph Keitel
Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics, Heidelberg, Germany

Tom Cowan
Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf, Dresden, Germany

Petr Malý
Charles University, Prague, the Czech Republic

Thomas Tschentscher
European XFEL, Hamburg, Germany

Jon Zuegel
Laboratory for Laser Energetics, University of Rochester, Rochester, USA